Why did Broncos get the ball after blocked punt?

Publish date: 2022-11-22

But as officials would explain, the Broncos instead got to keep the ball with a fresh set of downs. According to NFL rules, because the Cowboys had touched the blocked punt after it had traveled past the line of scrimmage, and the Broncos were eligible to recover it.

Why did Broncos get ball on blocked punt?

Opacity. To view this site, you need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser. On Sunday the Cowboys blocked a Broncos punt, but the ball ended up going back to the Broncos because a Cowboys player touched the ball after it had crossed the line of scrimmage.

Why did the Cowboys not get the ball after the blocked punt?

The league went on to explain why, via Twitter. "The punt is blocked and goes beyond the line of scrimmage, where it's touched by the receiving team. Since the receiving team touches the ball beyond the line of scrimmage, the kicking team is eligible to recover the ball.

Is the ball live after a blocked punt?

Other possible results include the punt being blocked behind the line of scrimmage, and the ball being touched, but not caught or possessed, downfield by the receiving team. In both cases the ball is then "free" and "live" and will belong to whichever team recovers it.

What happens if kicking team recovers blocked punt?

Item 3: If a player of the kicking team illegally catches or recovers a scrimmage kick, other than a field goal attempt from beyond the 20-yard line, and carries the ball across the goal line, or touches the goal line with any part of his body while in possession of the ball, the ball is dead, and the result of the ...

45 related questions found

Can you punt twice if blocked?

From the NFL rule book: “A second kick from behind the line of scrimmage is legal provided the ball has not crossed the line.” The ball didn't cross the line off the block, but it did in the hands of the punter.

Was the double punt legal?

Mike Pereira initially said this was not legal, and Fox Sports announcers Joe Buck and Troy Aikman thought this would result in a penalty. But as it turns out, it was perfectly fine for the Seahawks' Michael Dickson to punt the ball twice on one play.

Can you throw a pass after a blocked punt?

A: "When a kick, field goal attempt or punt is blocked and the ball stays behind the line of scrimmage, if the offense recovers the ball, it can run, pass or kick." USA Football Rules Editor Bill LeMonnier is a former college football referee who currently serves as an ESPN NCAA rules analyst.

Can you pick up a blocked punt and punt it again?

The rule states that a blocked punt can be picked up and advanced for a first down. It can also be kicked again as long as the ball does not cross the line of scrimmage in the process. The rule specifies that it has to be the punter and it can't be another player.

Can a punter catch his own punt and run it?

Yes, when punting the punter himself as well as any of his teammates have the option to catch the ball. Though when a punt is caught by the punting team they do not remain in possession of the ball.

Can the kicking team advance a blocked punt?

Conversation. In #DENvsDAL, the punt is blocked & goes beyond the line of scrimmage, where it's touched by the receiving team. Since the receiving team touches the ball beyond the line of scrimmage, the kicking team is eligible to recover the ball. DEN recovers the ball, but cannot advance it.

Is a blocked punt a turnover NFL?

Blocking a punt is also not considered a turnover in the NFL. It is not clear of the reasoning why a turnover statistic does not include this as a turnover because it does not involve the offense. As turnover numbers are often used when judging an offenses ability to protect the ball.

What happened to Dallas against the Broncos?

Dallas narrowly avoided a shutout but fell to the Broncos in a brutal 30-16 loss. From an 'awful' ruling on a blocked punt to Ezekiel Elliott limited by a knee injury, nothing seemed the go the Cowboys' way on Sunday.

Did the Cowboys have a blocked punt?

With the Cowboys leading 28-3 in the second quarter against the Atlanta Falcons on Sunday, defensive end Dorance Armstrong blocked a punt attempt and the ball bounced all the way to the end zone.

Can you advance a blocked punt in college football?

Who can pick up the ball and run with it? The rule is the same – for the most part – in both high school and college. A punt or field goal that is blocked and remains behind the line of scrimmage can be picked up and advanced by either team.

Who blocked punt in Cowboys game?

After Trevon Diggs recorded his record-setting 11th interception of the season and DeMarcus Lawrence completed a pick six in the first quarter, the Cowboys added to their commanding lead in the middle of the third quarter when running back Corey Clement blocked Tress Way's punt.

Can you Rekick a blocked kick?

Is re-kicking a blocked kick actually legal? It's probably not legal, although not explicitly illegal according to the rulebook. The NCAA's football rulebook says “a player shall not kick a loose ball,” and doing so is a 10-yard penalty that carries a loss of down.

Was Michael Dickson's punt legal?

In the end, everything Dickson did was legal, which makes the entire play even more impressive. In our preseason punter rankings here at CBSSports.com (seriously, we have a preseason punter rankings), Dickson was ranked No. 1 and on Thursday night, everyone in America got to see why.

Is there a drop kick in football?

Believe it or not, the dropkick remains a legal maneuver in the National Football League today. It still exists in the NFL's official rule book. Rule 3, Section 18, Article 1, Item 1 defines the dropkick as, "a kick by a player who drops the ball and kicks it as, or immediately after, it touches the ground."

Can you kick twice in NFL?

Mike Pereira, the rules analyst for the broadcast, commented that the play was illegal, but he was unaware of the rule. According to NFL Rule 9, a second punt is legal so long as the ball does not cross the line of scrimmage.

Has anyone punted on first down?

9. Philadelphia Eagles at Dallas Cowboys, October 16, 1994. What had happened: The Eagles ran for 1 on first down and -3 on second. The punt: Cunningham's punt over the defense was downed 80 yards downfield.

Why was the double punt legal?

For many of them, this was the first time they'd seen a double punt. Mike Pereira, the rules analyst for the broadcast, commented that the play was illegal, but he was unaware of the rule. According to NFL Rule 9, a second punt is legal so long as the ball does not cross the line of scrimmage.

Did Seahawks double punt count?

Turns out, it's very legal because the ball didn't cross the line of scrimmage.

What was the score between Dallas and the Broncos today?

Broncos beat Cowboys 30-16 as 6-game Dallas win streak ends.

Who is better Broncos or Cowboys?

The two teams have met each other 14 times (including 1 postseason game), with the Dallas Cowboys winning 5 games and the Denver Broncos winning 9 games.

ncG1vNJzZmiZnKG8tsDFqKatmpGhuW%2BvzmespGeWlr5ww8eyZJ2hlGKvs7vNnKasZZeawW7Ax55km5mcoXqistOeqWaanKSwrLHDZqeupqQ%3D